In-Depth Reviews of Website Builders


Today i am presenting in-depth reviews of website builders available online, so that you can choose the best according to your needs.

Online Website Builders are usually designed for users who just want good results in a short amount of time. Websites made with these web builders are not always coded in the best way possible, but then again – they do save a lot of time.

These Online Web Builders are a choice for newbies and non-professionals who just want to make a presentation on the web for their business, family or anything else you can imagine.

All prominent web hosts offer these online Web Builders these days and it is one of the main features in their β€œWhy Choose Us” list.

The Free package usually places some advertisements on the website you make. These ads don’t distract too much, usually they are just Google Ads or a link back to the Web Builder. The web builders also offer Paid packages as the solution for these ads.

Reviews of Website Builders

Wix is a very special Web Builder. You can create eye-catching flash websites with it in minutes, without any coding or programming skills. If you hire a web designer to make such a site, you’ll need to pay him at least a three figure amount.

Wix does it for free. Their slogan says it all: “Drag & Drop. No programming. Search engine friendly”. Though this is not a very old company, over 8 Million sites have been made using Wix.


Simple, easy to use website builder, no coding knowledge required. Dozens of template designs from which you can choose the template that suits your needs.

But according to me, the key feature of Weebly is the Domain Hosting. If you have a domain, you can publish your Weebly site on that and no one will know that you made the website for free. The 2nd Feature is No Ads. They say “we don’t place ads, and we never will”. You are allowed to put Google Ads so that you could make some money out of your site.

Screenshot of

Yola inclines towards Business websites. The tools and services they offer are specifically targeted to small business owners. The price plan for paid packages is also a bit higher, compared to their rivals. They seem to be worth it nevertheless.

One thing I should mention is that they are very proud of their customer support. A good customer support is always a grand advantage, so you should consider them whenever making a website. Screenshot

One of the most popular Online Web Builders available. In fact, it is so popular that almost all of good subdomain names have been captured. Just like dot com, it is very difficult to find a domain name of your priority. We can only guess the cause -an excellent domain name,

Get Shopped
This is a free Online Shop maker. It is not a versatile service, but for creating a shop online easily and with all the high level features, Get Shopped works like a charm. Screenshot

A dream comes true for the newcomers, techies don’t find it that attractive. Fast, easy and free, these three words define Webnode in the best manner. You can make a blog or create a website. They are well worth a try. screenshot

The biggest feature of Jimdo, according to me, is that with a graphical looking website, you can create a shopping cart. So selling products online becomes simple and this feature alone makes Jimdo shine – most of the other website builders don’t offer anything congeneric. screenshot

Web Starts
This web builder is not actually that popular, but they happen to have quite a few virtues. You can use your own domain, that’s a big convenience. Another perk of using Web Starts is their compatibility with search engines.

Overall, Web Starts is good for Business websites, but less useful for Portfolios and such sites demanding graphic elements. Screenshot

Doodle Kit
I said WebStarts is not a good tool for making portfolios, albums and such stuff. On the other hand, Doodle Kit is perfect for all that. It also allows you to create a CMS. Doodle Kit has received some great review comments by renowned internet sites, so they are also worth a try. Screenshot

This list cannot be completed without Moonfruit. Before saying anything about it, I should mention that over 3 million sites have been made with Moonfruit.

One of the main reasons it has received so much success is that it stays as far away from any ads as possible. There are several additional assets as well; it deserves a little bit of your time. This builder is quite appropriate for creating personal pages. Screenshot

create free website wix below post

Further Related Readings

  1. Helen February 15, 2011 at 2:50 am

    You’ve missed

  2. Shadab Feroz April 4, 2011 at 11:42 pm

    Nice free collection! I do appreciate efforts of yours for sharing free stuff amongst open public, Double Thumps up! great work

    1. Tayyab April 6, 2011 at 4:47 am

      @Shadab Feroz

      Thanks for appreciating πŸ™‚ Comments really mean a lot to us.

  3. Ruzivo May 20, 2011 at 4:11 am

    Quite helpful stuff indeed. Keep it up!!!!!

    1. Tayyab May 21, 2011 at 2:31 am


      I’ll keep it up…….


  4. Sunshine May 26, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Thank you

    1. Tayyab May 27, 2011 at 1:40 am

      Welcome Sunshine!

  5. Ruzivo May 27, 2011 at 4:23 am

    I personally think that Weebly is the best free online website builder. They have well built system that allows easy use and editing. Less restrictions. Might be basic, but certainly professional. Perfecto i mean.

  6. Victoria May 27, 2011 at 3:30 pm

    I would like to design a site that is compatible with ipad. What is the best option for that? I am working on an imac for design.

    1. Tayyab May 28, 2011 at 2:09 pm

      Good question Victoria!

      to be honest I don’t have an iPad but the compatibility concerns are with browsers, not the hardware. Most of these (if not all) web builders work with Opera Mini browser with flash player installed, and flash player on iPad or iMac is not an odd thing, right. Hope this answers the question.

  7. JJ August 5, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    I am looking to create a website where I can have free and paid memberships. I also want each member to be able to have their own individual blog and be able to “like” other members blog posts and be able to access them quickly. Also, it would be nice if members could upload files (word or images) and have other members be able to comment on them. A shop would be nice too!

    I know it’s a tall order, but any suggestions? I don’t mind a small monthly fee, but nothing outrageous, please. πŸ™‚

    1. Tayyab August 6, 2011 at 2:20 am

      Hello JJ!
      Free hosts will not suit for such a project. And you will need a community software (such as Dolphin)to create such a website.
      Once your traffic increases, you will have to buy a hosting package pricing in at least 3 figures. but that’s only when you have traffic on your site, not in the start.

  8. Gotika August 25, 2011 at 12:45 am

    I am using
    this is the most powerful and easiest website builder!

    1. Tayyab August 25, 2011 at 5:39 am

      Thanks for sharing the link @Gotika
      Manifo is FREE and seems nice.

  9. peter130385 September 8, 2011 at 2:32 am

    thank you for this rewiew. But I can’t open the site

    1. Tayyab September 8, 2011 at 7:42 am

      There must be a temporary problem, I’m sure they’ll be back soon. πŸ™‚

  10. Dibakar September 10, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    I want to build a site that I will need to upload a lot of video content to. It will also have a forum for discussion. Do you think any of these website builders are suitable?

    1. Tayyab September 11, 2011 at 1:44 am

      Hello Dibakar!

      Sorry to Say, I don’t think any free host will give you enough bandwidth to make site with a lot of videos. But you can upload your videos on youtube (or any other video streaming site) and embed them in your site, that’s the only feasible way to create a free site with a lot of videos.

  11. Luce September 18, 2011 at 5:25 am

    Thanks for this review. Is google sites a good option? or does it not fall into the category of free-online-web-builders?
    I have a domain name, need to get a small website going (as a start, might then move to bigger projects).
    Thank for any advice

    1. Tayyab September 19, 2011 at 6:07 am


      If you have a domain, what you need is a free web host with a web builder. All these web builders give you a subdomain or you can buy one from them. I think you need something like

  12. thoma October 27, 2011 at 12:40 am

    Chanced on your site and glad I did. You’ve so much packed in your site and am sure my blogfrens will be delighted to consult this!

    I’ve been doing a mad hunt for free website builder. I know next to nothing about all this; in fact sadly so naive that I got to google every other technical term. We want to start a vacation rental business online and list (is that what you call it) it in sites like tripadvisor (tht’s the only one i know of now). Am particular about the template. Am keen on a ragged woody grunge look or anything rustic and torn (like torn pages :). Came across a template I really liked in But it’s taking so long to load and when am making the font/title changes it doesn’t register the edit. You say weebly provides domain hosting. But other sites offer it too. Do you mean it’s free in weebly and paid in others?

    Which one would you suggest for me?

    1. Tayyab October 27, 2011 at 3:49 am

      Paid Domain is an additional feature which you can buy in all these “free web builders”.
      Quite honestly if you are trying to make something of the scale of Trip Adviser, I’d suggest that you make yourself more literate with IT first, if you are not planning something so big, just a personal blog with your travel experiences on it, then I think they all can work.

  13. thoma October 27, 2011 at 1:32 am

    That said I’ve already explored webnode, webs, jimdo, yola, wix and currently looking up weebly! the template i really liked was found only in but alas as I said!

  14. thoma October 27, 2011 at 1:36 am

    And I’ve figured out the domain hosting thingy in weebly πŸ˜›

    1. Tayyab October 27, 2011 at 3:44 am

      Glad to know that πŸ™‚

  15. thoma October 27, 2011 at 9:55 am

    thank you! kinda chosen one i really liked in weebly. quite honestly, am learning as i go along ;P there’s frustration, persistence and thrill in it. may come back to you with a request for a guest post in my (already existing) blog. you’ve a power-packed site (did i mention it before? :P) that many may benefit!

    good day!

    1. Tayyab October 27, 2011 at 10:15 am

      glad to know that you finally found ‘the one’ πŸ˜›
      I’m not sure if you want me to guest post in your blog or you want to write a guest post in our blog. I think you want a guest post published here at Designzzz.
      You are always welcomed to write it πŸ™‚ we can also include a link of your blog in your “Author Info” box.
      on a side note: it was nice talking to you πŸ™‚

  16. thoma October 27, 2011 at 11:06 am

    my pleasure….

    If am guest posting it can only be about baking tips and stuff πŸ˜›

    I meant me writing a post on you and your site in my blog…coz mine is primarily a food blog tht’s naturally branching out to be more eclectic in response to my eclectic taste! a while later though.

    1. Tayyab October 27, 2011 at 12:06 pm

      I’m sure you cook delicious πŸ™‚
      Thank you so much for acknowledging the efforts. It’ll be a pleasure if you would mention our name on your blog.
      I hope you had a good time here, I look forward to seeing you here again. (even though, these things don’t relate to you at all)

  17. thoma October 27, 2011 at 9:10 pm

    yes i cook delicious ;p i read you’re a freelance photographer…take a peek at this fren of mine: nashira. she does one of the best food photography but my circle is limited. tell me if your eyes dont pop!!….though am more a fan of photojournalism..

    1. Tayyab October 28, 2011 at 9:48 am

      Without a doubt Nashira does a damn good job. I specially liked cookie on the milk glass picture. (made me hungy)

      If you like photojournalism, you should have a look at one my old posts, its not the best photojournlism collection you’ll ever see, but not bad.

  18. thoma October 28, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Yes, I call her the P & S wonder because she is yet to buy her SLR!

    I was totally overwhelmed by the collection you pointed out! Even though each one photo has such searing pain and deep pathos I was stunned by the aesthetics of each one too. And though generally am disturbed by such photos I enjoyed the beauty of every piece here!

    “Trawler Cochin Kerala” is by Anoop Negi, a photographer whose work I immensely enjoy! And my random trawling in the site brought me to, a compelling body of work, that I’ve only started to explore but whose profile info itself gave me goose bumps, ah so powerful! I fell for the sincerity in his words which is so palpable! take a look.

  19. thoma October 29, 2011 at 3:09 am

    did you see the i could kill for a template and web design like that. good things cost right? i’d seen another in with the torn jeans border and ragged pages for the text. i want that look for my blog. finally.

    1. Tayyab October 29, 2011 at 4:24 am

      If you want your blog to look wowing you should have a look at
      This is also a builder like WIX but this one is created to give you unbeatable looks.
      And thanks for liking our PhotoJournalism post, yes those pics were harsh, but the world isn't any different, is it…?

  20. A friend November 9, 2011 at 6:12 pm

    Moonfruit rocks xD. Check my site

  21. Curtis December 13, 2011 at 5:29 pm is a good builder! Try the Free Trial

  22. Johan December 14, 2011 at 4:18 pm

    Please add to your list

    1. Tayyab December 15, 2011 at 5:45 am

      I can’t edit this post, but I’ll remember that next time.

  23. P.Jumago February 25, 2012 at 2:50 am

    Everyone should be trying Circlepad, very easy to use, great templates, graphics everything I wanted and my site is very professional. Only problem it doesn’t seem to be well known

    1. Tayyab February 25, 2012 at 7:38 am

      Even I never heard of it before. Thanks for sharing, I’ll include it the next time I make a post on this topic.

  24. Elvis C February 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Circlepad seems to be very good from the outward appearance. Hope i will try it some day

  25. ccth June 1, 2012 at 7:38 am

    Hi, I am creating a website for an artist/performer. I am looking for a free website that can include images, videos, and maybe even music. Integration of social media profiles (Twitter, Facebook, or YouTube) and possibly a blog to make it easy for fans and supporters to follow the artist would be great. What website would be most suited toward this?

    I’ve tried Yola and am pretty okay with it, but I don’t like how I cannot make archives or collapse posts to make it less busy.

    1. Tayyab June 2, 2012 at 7:16 am

      I think Yola and Weebly should be the best ones for this particular use. Since you have already used Yola, you might give weebly a try. The problem is I haven’t used all them. I can only recommend by learning from their features page…

  26. Emma Lyster June 2, 2012 at 3:59 am

    Thanks for this great info, it is really helpful to a beginner like me. I am trying to find out whether using these free online web builders affects your ranking.
    I have my own domain that has a dreamweaver site on it which has had Googl page 1 ranking for the best part of 7 years, but my partner has now left the business and I cannot use dreamweaver and don’t have time to learn or go on a course, so I used Wix to build a new site (which looks great), but friends have put me off using it so far as they tell me I will loose my ranking if I use the Wix DNS servers to run the site. Do you know if this is true?
    thanks, Emma

    1. Tayyab June 2, 2012 at 7:09 am

      Hello Emma,

      well, that depends, server change can affect your pagerank but if you continue to update your site regularly and visitors continue visiting your site, I think you’ll be okay.
      Pagerank is mostly determined from the linkbacks your site gets from relevant sites. So if you have linkbacks from quality website (sites having a good pagerank ranking) you shouldn’t worry about Wix DNS.

  27. Lakia Marley June 6, 2012 at 7:47 am

    Very useful, thanks. Always remember the old adage: “Keep it simple, stupid” especially true for forms.

Comments are closed.

Copyrights © 2016 - Designzzz. All Rights Reserved